WHAT DO I TELL GOD?

There were two women in the African village where I lived. Each of them was dying of AIDS.

Mary accepted Christ as her savior. She was unconscious during the three days prior to her death. Each time I visited she was bathed and dressed in beautiful orange and gold clothes. Although she rested on a woven mat on the packed earth floor she was always in a spotless environment.

Never once during my trips did I find her in a smelly condition or in soiled clothes. Nor did I ever find her alone. A Christian sister sat with her night and day.

Dodo, the other woman who was dying of AIDS, lived with her family who were relatives of the warlord. Her husband called on witches and traditional herbalists to cure her. They gave her slimy concoctions to drink and rubbed repulsive creams all over her body. Some of the native healers slashed her chest and neck with knives and then rubbed red and black powder into the wounds.

The neighbors told me that on the day of her death she had been abandoned by everyone and died alone covered in body wastes and flies. They told me she had worshipped Satan and offered sacrifices and praise to the devil and went to be with him after her death.

For many years some people in America had asked me, “Why do you force those poor Africans to leave their traditional beliefs and customs which they have had for generations?”

And I replied, “I’d like you to see those unfortunate people and the consequences of their traditional, religious beliefs.”

Besides, if I left them alone what would I tell the Lord God on judgment day?

No matter where, we must share God’s plan of salvation.

So others can escape eternal damnation.

But the decision is theirs and yours.

Dodo chose her traditional beliefs.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHAT DO I TELL GOD?

  1. Marcy says:

    Celeste, This is so true. We are called to spread the gospel but not everyone will respond. It’s so sad when they don’t.

Leave a Reply

