TURN THE OTHER CHEEK

TURN THE OTHER CHEEK

Two small African boys were fighting. 

I approached and halted the scrap. “Didn’t Jesus tell us to turn the other cheek?”

“But Madam,” the smaller lad frowned. “Our cheeks were not fighting. Our whole bodies, arms, legs, heads and chests were fighting. No one can turn his whole body away from a brawl.”

 “That’s right,” The bigger child frowned. “Only the cheek can be turned if the cheek is fighting, but no one fights with his cheeks. What Jesus said is hard to practice.”

“If someone hits me on this cheek,” I touched the right side of my face. “Then I should turn it and let him hit me on the other side.”

“Madam, that is a silly idea.” The shorter boy scowled.

The taller lad shook his head. “I don’t know anyone who would do such a dim-witted thing.”

  The smaller one beamed. “If someone hits me on my cheek, I think I should grab the other boy’s cheek, turn it and beat him for striking me.”

“I agree,” The bigger boy answered. “That is the intelligent thing to do.”

The little child said, “Only a fool would allow himself to be hit a second time?”  

Does Jesus expect us to be silly, stupid fools?

Does God want us to keep quiet if someone insults us? 

Does the Lord ask us not to strike back when someone hurts us? 

Jesus Christ allowed men to abuse, beat and kill him.

We should imitate Jesus Christ as our example.

Matthew 5:38-39 “You have heard that it was said, Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.  But I tell you do not resist an evil person.  If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.

Thanks for joining me today.

Blessings and have a great week,

Celeste

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

