LIKE A LITTLE CHILD

Matthew 18:3 “He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” 

Four-year old Nonnie was too young to attend the Good News club. But she heard all the children carried rocks to my house. One Wednesday afternoon I glanced toward the road and recognized Nonnie’s pick Sunday dress. She clutched three small rocks to her chest which she dropped in the drive way. My assistant explained that she needed two more rocks to receive a bar of soap. 

Nonnie dashed off to the hills and returned with four rocks. After she collected her bar of soap, she looked up at me. “May I have a needle and thread? All the other children are getting them.”

After bringing three more rocks Nonnie received her needle and thread. Then her father arrived from his fields.

“Papa, why do I need this needle and thread when my dress is not torn?”

Her father looked at me, and I smiled. “Maybe one day someone in your family will rip a cloth and need it.”

Nonnie beamed. “Papa, here’s a bar of soap for you to bath. I’ve already taken my bath and do not need it.”

Neither Nonnie nor any of the other children knew why I wanted a yard full of rocks. They brought them because I asked for them.

I want to obey the Lord and follow Him, but I have a harder time than an innocent child. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if all of us could do as God tells us, just because He asked?

Blessings and have great week,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

