A WAY OUT

A WAY OUT

Lots of folks say God will never give you anything you can’t handle. That’s not exactly what the Bible says.

“No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful, he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.”  (I Corinthians 10:13)

God gives us difficulties so we’ll turn to Him for help.

I travelled with my assistant to a bush village. Reaching the guest room, I set my bag down. Mary picked up the bucket. “I will bring the water for bathing and then I will boil it.”

“Thank you, but I do not want hot bath water. It is 90 degrees this evening.”

“You are strong if you can take a bucket bath without heating up your water. I don’t know any woman who is that tough.”

I smiled at her. “But you can sleep on a packed earth floor, while I need a mattress.”

Mary grinned. “You can live all day on one peanut butter sandwich. I need several bowls of corn meal mush for strength or I will be hungry.”

“Perhaps I can manage a few days on just a little, but when I get home I will cook a big meal.”

Mary wiped the sweat from her brow. “We walked seven miles today and I am tired, but you’re not even exhausted.”

“I will sleep sound tonight. But you have carried eight buckets of water from that well which is about a half a mile away, and I couldn’t do that.”

“Fetching water every day is part of our normal life.”

Each of us has difficulties, challenges we face, and circumstances to overcome.  What is hard for me may be easy for someone else.  God knows what problems we can endure, and He will provide a means to get through them.

Have a great week,

Blessings,

Celeste

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

