TOO MUCH BAGGAGE

“Your Father knows what you need before you ask Him.” Matthew 6:8

I was moving to a new location to treat people far away in the African bush. There was only one cow path for a few motorcycles, so most people walked into the settlement.

The pastor hired two motorcycles. Each one charged fifty cents to carry my belongings to the secluded community, five miles away. One driver brought my rolled mattress, pillow, bed sheets and mosquito net.  The other one tied my small suitcase filled with clothes, books and medicines to his bike and then attached several buckets filled with pots, pans and food.

Free of bags and baskets, I opened my umbrella and hiked behind the pastor on the narrow trail. Life sure was easier not having to lug suitcases around with me. Unencumbered, I enjoyed the walk to the village, seeing the animals, plants and trees.

But in the settlement, no one even had a mattress, pillow, an extra bucket, frying pan or coffee mug. Staring at their meager belongings I realized I could get by with much less than what I had brought.

But then I remembered when I first arrived in Africa with my curling iron, hair dryer and electric curlers. They had taken up lots of space and weight in my luggage. Even the experienced missionaries suggested I not bring them, but I didn’t listen. In the end they were useless because I didn’t have electricity.

God knows what we need when even we don’t know sometimes.

As we go through life we often taken many things with us that we never need. I like to remind myself from time to time that life is easier and less complicated when I’m not carrying around all that excess baggage.

Have a great week,

Celeste

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

