WHOM DO YOU CHOOSE TO SERVE?

“And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your father served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house we will serve the Lord.” Whom do you choose to serve this day?” Joshua 24: 15

I located several villages isolated far away in the African bush, whom I affectionately nicknamed, “The Stone Age People.”

The half-naked folks ground their corn by hand with stones, cooked over three-rock fires and sat on round boulders. There were no wooden benches or other furniture in the community.

Wanting to hear the Gospel, they invited me to stay in their town. I moved into one of their rock chambers.

Sitting around the campfire late in the evenings, I told the stories of creation, original sin, fall of man and blood sacrifices which led to Christ our sacrifice.

More aware of the demon world than Americans, they asked me where the evil spirits came from. “Lucifer was one of God’s angels who became jealous and was cast out of Heaven. He took with him a third of the angels to earth, and they became evil spirits.”

The oldest woman asked. “If the Lord loves us so much, why didn’t God just kill Lucifer? Why did God let him live on the earth to hurt us?”

I turned to her. “God created us with free wills to decide for ourselves to follow Jesus and serve God or go after the devil, Satan.”

The ancient woman continued. “It seems to me we would be better off still living in that Garden of Eden.”

“Yes, we’d have a nice easy life, but we’d be robots without any options.” Life would be trouble-free if we lived in perfect worlds, but the Lord wants us, of our own free wills, to choose Him.

Decide today whom you will serve?

Have a great week,

Celeste

PS When I was leaving the village, I forgot my pumice stone which I’d purchased in the open market, ten years earlier for twenty cents. I went back to my little home and glanced at all the rocks I’d used as furniture. Seeing my black stone, the size of an orange, I picked it up and slipped it into my backpack. The people laughed at me for carrying away my rock.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

