DO NOT WORRY

“So do not worry, saying what shall we eat?  Or what shall we drink? Or what shall we wear for the pagan run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.” Matthew 6:31-32

Halfway through my meal of rice and beans I longed for fruits and vegetables. In Africa fresh foods are seasonal. Without refrigeration or other means of preservation, vegetables and fruits can only be enjoyed certain times of the year.

Someone called me to the front door. A young African man stood next to a wheelbarrow full of cabbages, tomatoes and cucumbers. For fifty cents I purchased one cabbage, two cucumbers and six tomatoes.

I made some homemade mayonnaise and chopped the cabbage for Cole slaw. After slicing the tomatoes and cucumbers, I arranged them around the salad. For a week I enjoyed those fresh vegetables.

Another time the well and water reservoir were empty. There was no water even in  the house to drink. Sometimes we land on the bottom, and the only place to look is up. And I’m not talking about the bottom of the water tank. So I looked up and prayed.

Late that night it rained and filled the reservoir.   Let’s not worry over what we need to survive for God knows what we need and will provide everything. 

Another time, I wanted a pizza, but lived in the bush, hundreds of miles from restaurants that made pizza. All the missionaries prepared it from scratch with flour, yeast, tomatoes, onions and grated cheese. 

As I thought about how delicious a pizza would taste, the driver of a missionary friend of mine pulled into the yard. He stepped out of the truck and carried a pizza wrapped in aluminum foil to the front door. My friend either had made too much or was unable to eat all she baked and wanted to share some with me.

My mouth opened wide in surprise and joy, for I’d never expected a pizza in the middle of the African bush. But God loves us wherever we are.

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:33-34

The Lord got me safely out of the country during a military coup, but I was never able to return. I left behind a house with my furniture, dishes, pots, pans, linens, pillows, towels, clothes and supplies for several years. And all of it disappeared during the government turmoil.

After starting another ministry in the neighboring country, the Lord provided a larger house and filled it with furniture and household goods, much better than the ones I was forced to leave behind.

Over the years I’ve lost everything I owned on three occasions.  The last time, even the funds in the bank disappeared. But the Lord provided a roof over my head, a bed, food to eat, clothes to wear, running water and even a computer, internet and phone.  

And I praise the Lord for all of it. God is faithful, and I thank Him for always providing everything I need and even sometimes what I want, like pizza. Seek the Lord and his righteousness before all else. He will take care of you and give you everything you need.

So do not worry, for the Lord will take care of you.

 

Blessings,

Have a great week,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

