JUST ONE LITTLE MISTAKE

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” I John 1:8

I was so excited because at last I had all the ingredients to bake brownies in Africa. When I stirred the eggs and sugar into the butter, my mouth watered as I thought of the delicious, chocolaty brownies.

I slid the pan of batter into the tiny African oven and prayed the temperature “2” on the 1-5 number choices would be 350 degrees. When the sweet, fudgy aroma filled the little room, the brownies were done, and I took them out of the stove. After letting them cool a few minutes, I began slicing them. Something was wrong. The corners were hard rocks and they wouldn’t budge from the pan.

In my enthusiasm I’d forgotten to grease the pan. I stabbed and pulled the knife to free them, but the center crumbled into a million pieces. The entire bottom was fixed solidly inside the old pan. After awhile, I managed to skim several cups of crumbs off the top, but the only way to free the hardened bottom crust was to soak it in water. And then it was gone forever.

Tears came to my eyes as I asked, “How could one little mistake of forgetting to grease a pan spoil an entire tray of brownies?”

God said, “It’s kind of like one little sin. It can ruin your whole life.”

Stealing can lead to prison.

Adultery can ruin a marriage.

One dishonorable choice can spoil a reputation.

Sexual promiscuity can cause an incurable disease.

Drinking and drugs may lead to violence or worse, death. 

Just one little sin can ruin our lives. Confess, repent and hand over every transgression to God. Give your life with its shortcomings to the Lord of Lords. Ask Him to use it for His glory.

But could those tiny crumbs, like a broken life be saved and used for anything?

I opened the refrigerator and took out my giant bowl of yogurt. After straining it I prepared a type of cream cheese since there wasn’t any in Africa. Before putting the “experiment” in the oven, I prayed.

In the end I had the most delicious cheese cake with a chocolate crumb crust that I’d ever eaten. Let’s confess our sins to the Lord, repent and turn away from them. If we give them to Him, He will wash them away and turn us into something useful and beautiful for His splendor.

“If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned, we make Him out to be a liar.”                     I John 1:8-9

Don’t let one little sin, transgression or wrongdoing ruin the rest of your life. Ask God for forgiveness and trust Him to work everything out for His glory. Amen.

If you’ve enjoyed this post, feel free to share it with others.

Blessings,

Celeste

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

