TAKE TIME

“I have fought the good fight. I have finished the race. I have kept the faith.” I Timothy 4:7

After hiking several miles I stopped at the bottom of the tall peak. The basket in my left hand felt way too heavy, so I moved medicine bottles to another bag to balance the weight. It had been several years since I hiked straight up the mountain.

I turned to a young man. “I need to treat patients in the village on top of the peak. How far is it?”

“Two miles.” He shook his head and frowned. “It is a very difficult climb even for us.”

I ascended higher and higher as I took in more and more breathes. Forty-five minutes later I met another man. “How far to the top?”

“It is only five miles.”

After two more hours of putting one foot ahead of the other going straight up the mountain, I asked a passerby. “How far to the top?”

He frowned. “Seven miles.”

I considered myself in good physical condition since I trekked to many villages, but still I leaned forward and lifted one foot painfully in front of the other. My chest rose and fell faster as I pushed myself upward. It was much farther and higher than I remembered. Still I kept going, even out of breath and in need of oxygen. All my energy was concentrated on making it to the clinic.

Reaching the church, I thanked God and breathed in the crisp clear air until my heart rate slowed to normal. I sat down on the ledge and scanned the magnificent view. The emerald mountains, clear blue skies and russet trails on the nearby hills had been worth the climb. But I could have enjoyed that sight all the way to the top had I not been so focused on reaching the peak.

We can get so busy running the race of life, we no longer pay attention to the daily joys surrounding us. We can get so distracted and lose our breath walking the steep, winding trails we don’t even notice the blessings of family and friends. Other times we can get so caught up in tasks that we forget to speak kind words to others. Or we may get so focused trying to make it through another day, that we no longer see any beauty. Let’s not wait until our race has ended, we have retired or our lives are terminated to enjoy God’s presence. Take time out today to be with the Lord, enjoy the places and people along the way.

“I have fought the good fight. I have finished the race. I have kept the faith.” I Timothy 4:7

Although it’s a busy time of the year, let’s not forgot the important things all along the path of life.

Blessings,

Have a great week,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TAKE TIME

  1. Julie Parker says:

    Celeste,

    What a great illustration. Thank you for the encouraging reminder.

Leave a Reply

