I HAVE A DREAM

“Without a vision the people perish.” Proverbs 29:18

In Africa the local Christians kept lit lanterns all night to ward off dangerous spirits. Keeping a Bible under the pillow also protected folks from wickedness.

Mary and I travelled to a village and due to lack of transportation we needed to spend the night. So she closed all the windows to keep out evil. As the kerosene lantern burned in the closed room, the fumes made me sick. My head hurt, eyes watered and nostrils were on fire. But Mary slept right through it, obviously immune to the toxic fumes.

I jumped up and opened the door for fresh air. As I stepped outside I took in the cool breeze, lifted my water jug and washed my face, eyes and nose. Looking up at the stars I felt deep satisfaction.

Early the next morning the pastor said “I’m so excited one of my dreams has come true. We have something called tap water in the village.”

Having spent much time toting well water filled with squiggly, wiggly germs squirming around in it, I know tap water is a great invention. The pastor carried a filled bucket from the village tap to the bathing stall. I had forgotten my bar of soap. Since I had body lotion, I used a squirt of it as soap. Living and serving in Africa to me was an adventure and a great challenge managing with what was available.

On the way home I was able to witness to a Muslim lady in the taxi. She said, “You have almost convinced me to become a Christian.”

The taxi driver shouted. “Do not become a Christian.”

Since the lady lived quite close to me I asked if I could visit her. Later Mary and I went to her house and shared Christ.

That was my last New Year’s weekend in Africa. I miss that life and would love to return to it. But I’m seeking God about another idea I have. What is your purpose? What are you aiming to do during your life? Do you have a vision, a goal or a dream to fulfill?

Ideas and goals get us up each morning, give us happiness, keep us going and inspire us to achieve more each day. The Bible says that without a vision the people perish. We need dreams and goals to keep us alive. Before the New Year goes any farther, set your aims, seek your purpose and find your dreams.

Like Martin Luther King, I can say, “I have a dream.”

Thanks for joining me today,

Until next Saturday,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I HAVE A DREAM

  1. Renae says:

    Jeremiah 29:11
    For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Leave a Reply

