LIVING WATER

Many of us can turn on any tap and have water as much and as long as we like. A hundred years ago in the US when people dug wells and fetched buckets of water they probably would have appreciated piped water.

There are still many countries in the world today without piped water. I was working in an isolated African village and hauled out a bucket of water from a shallow well next to a swamp.  I carried it to my quarters and set it on the campfire. Then I boiled it for five minutes to kill the dangerous pathogens, but I grimaced at the “things” floating in the water. And even though those “things” no longer moved it was difficult to drink that water. Besides, it tasted awful, even after using my skirt to strain out the “things.” So I put a tea bag in it and set it in the sun. By then the water tasted decent, but it was no longer water.   I missed and even longed for pure, clean water.

During the time of Christ women fetched water in the early morning or evening.  But Jesus found the Samaritan woman getting water at noon, the heat of the day because no one wanted to be associated with her. As she listened to the words of Christ, I can almost see her longing for His presence in her life.  

On rare mornings sometimes  I need to start work before spending time with the Lord. It is then I really miss Him because He encourages me, shows me the way and strengthens me for the day. Without His presence first thing in the morning, the day doesn’t go so well for me, and I eagerly search for a few minutes of quiet during the day when I can spend time alone with Him.

I long for untainted water, without “things” floating in it. I want water that tastes delicious and refreshes me. So I pray and study His Word, which hasn’t been watered down and is free of additives.

Jesus Christ is the Living Water who gives us life eternal, peace on earth and joy in the midst of suffering. And His sweet presence carries us through each hour of the day.

 John 4:14 “But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up unto everlasting life.”

Take time each morning to get a drink of that Living Water.  You’ll be pleased at how well it keeps you refreshed throughout the day.

 Have a great week,

Until next Saturday,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

