Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s day reminds me of red velvet cake which reminds me of my birthday. When I was growing up we could have whatever foods we wanted on our birthday. My father was of German descent and came from a place where “birthdays” were equivalent to holidays. I always wanted squash and red velvet cake for my birthday. Not many little girls would select squash for her birthday, but I loved the dark-orange, whipped vegetable with butter. It came in a frozen square package from the store.

Red velvet cake and ice cream were for dessert.

When I first went to Africa, I was the youngest missionary, 22 years old. It was my birthday a few months after I arrived. All the missionaries were like parents to me and wanted to give me a “Happy Birthday.” They learned that red velvet cake was my favorite, but unfortunately there was no red food coloring in the country. And a red velvet cake requires two bottles of it.

Back then missionaries shipped everything they would need for their term. Many brought red food coloring to decorate their Christmas cookies. So they pooled their remaining partial bottles and made the sacrifice for me to have a red velvet cake.

And so every time I see a red velvet cake, or it’s Valentine’s day or my birthday, I think of their loving sacrifice to make my first birthday away from home so precious.

I’m sure most of us have had people sacrifice for us. Let’s say thank you to those who love us and have given up things for us.

But remember, that besides those folks, Christ gave his life for us. “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son that whosoever believeth in him should not perish but have life everlasting.”

Until next Saturday,

Haved a blessed week,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

