Are You Ready?

Ready for what?

Ready for work? Yes, but I’m running late.

Ready to get your leg amputed? Never. Who could ever be ready for that?

Ready to get married? Maybe, but I’m having doubts.

Ready for chemo therapy? No. Well, maybe if it will save my life.

Ready for bed? Not quite, just one more thing to do.

Ready to be a missionary in Africa?  Not me. There are lots of others who can go.

Ready to meet your maker? Yes, but I don’t want to meet Him today.

Ready for your promotion at work? Yes, I earned it.

Ready to eat? Always, but I shouldn’t.

Ready for church? Almost, I’m running late.

Ready to give your flashlight away? Not yet, I need it for myself.

Ready to die? Maybe later, not now.

Jesus is coming back. Are you ready?

Jesus will return. Are you ready?

Jesus is coming soon. Are you ready?

No one knows the time of Christ’s returning.  It’s wise to get ready and stay ready.

Jesus told a story of ten virgins who expected to attend a wedding feast. They didn’t know when the celebration was to begin. The bridegroom arrived, five of them were welcomed to the festivity because they were ready to meet him. But the others were turned away because they were not ready.

Be ready.

“Watch therefore. For you don’t know the day or the hour of His return.” (Matthew 25:1-13).

The five virgins were negligent and were left behind. Although they had prepared, they didn’t remain in a state of readiness.

“Be ye therefore ready also: for the son of man cometh at an hour when you think not.” (Luke 12:40, Matthew 24:44)

“Lord Jesus, I am a sinner in need of your forgiveness. Please forgive me of my sins. Come into my life, cleanse me and save me. I accept you as my Savior and Lord. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

Be prepared and stay ready.

Thanks for joining me.

Blessings for the coming week,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

