WAIT

“Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” Psalms 27:14

Whenever I ask God about something, I hear from Him very soon.

But most of the time his answer is “Wait.”

It’s kind of ironic that God answers me quickly but tells me to go slow or wait. Maybe one day I’ll learn to be patient and get better at waiting.

In Africa I could sit all day by the side of the road to wait for a taxi. During that time I could share Christ with another passenger, read a book or write notes for my novel. So the waiting didn’t seem too difficult. I thought I was becoming an expert at waiting.

But on the days it rained, I was impatient and never could wait.  When it rains in Africa almost everything and everyone comes to a complete halt.  Most folks take shelter during a storm. Lots of people don’t have umbrellas and even the ones who do wouldn’t walk in the rain because it can be quite chilly.

Several African women and I were walking the eight-mile hike home. During the last part of the jouney a storm began.  They wanted to stop and take shelter and told me they couldn’t trek in the cold.

I reasoned. “My house is only a mile from here, and I want to go home.”

“But it’s wet, chilly and windy” They argued.

“If I walk fast I’ll be uncomfortable for only fifteen minutes. I can take a hot bath when I get home.”

When I stepped away from them the wind turned my umbrella inside out.

The oldest woman frowned. “Stay and wait with us. Your umbrella is broken.”

“No.” I took a few more steps and was drenched. It was very cold even for me. But twenty minutes later at home I was warm, dry and sipping hot tea.

Late that evening the women stopped at my house.  “We do not understand you.  Why do you like to suffer by walking in the cold?”

“I don’t have the patience that you people have to wait three or more hours for a storm to pass.”

Silly me. How can I not have patience to wait out a storm, but can wait on a taxi all day?

I’m not as patient as I thought. Otherwise the Lord wouldn’t keep telling me to go slowly or wait when I ask Him what I should do about a situation.

“Wait for the Lord and he will deliver you.” Psalms 20:22

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him:” Psalms 37:7

Whenever I’ve managed to wait, like God told me to do, I’ve been wonderfully blessed. But waiting isn’t always easy, is it?

Thanks for joining me.

I hope you will visit again next Saturday,

Celeste

 

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

