NOTHING

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.” Philippians 4:11

The village ladies and I walked home from town one day through the bush. A six-year- old African boy wearing nothing but a big smile, walked toward us and waved. As he came near he greeted us saying, “Hello. All is well.”

But except for his grin, he was nude. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to have nothing, not even clothes, and then be happy about it. The exposed child faced me and beamed freely as if everything was perfect in his life.

Who can be happy if all he had was a smile? I knew the boy and many others just like him. They resided in mud huts with thatched roofs. They had no toys and no books. This little child’s only set of clothes had been left at home for his mother to wash that day.

In his state of “nothingness” he gave me something, a big toothless grin, a sweet greeting, “all is well,” and encouragement.

Lord, teach us to be content with what we have and in every situation. If we believe we have nothing or very little, let there still be a smile, a thoughtful welcome or word of support in us for someone else.

Blessings,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NOTHING

  1. Carol Copeland says:

    Your devotional really spoke to my heart.

Leave a Reply

