Thank God for Time

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise. Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.”  Ephesians 5:15-16

In Africa I became friends with a lovely German woman. One day when I dropped by to see her I said. “I’ve extra time to kill, so I came for a visit.”

“Don’t kill time!” Frieda gasped. “Never speak such an evil thing. Time is one of God’s precious gifts to us. We should be grateful for it and thank God for every minute He has given us.”

She told me the following story.

When I was studying at the University at Munich, I met my husband, an African native. We fell in love and were married. We returned to his African home and met a woman with several children living in his house. My husband introduced her as his first wife. 

After my son was born he brought other wives and their children into our home. As the youngest wife, I was responsible for fetching water and chopping firewood. Over the years I gave birth to three daughters. One day, I’d had enough of his abuse, control and deception.

I  tried to leave him and take the children with me back to Germany. My husband struck me and said in his country all children belonged to the father, and I should return to Germany, alone, without my children. If I left, I’d never see my children again, but I couldn’t stay and endure my husband’s cruelty.

I moved into a small mud house down the road. I was still carrying water and chopping wood, but doing it for myself and not for twenty other family members. Every day I walked to my husband’s house and watched my children play and go to school. One day my husband said I could take the children to my home for a visit. What a precious time we had when I could hold my own children. He let me do this from time to time. I always sent them home with money and food to help others in his family. Every time with my children became a gift from God. Don’t ever say, I have time to kill.  Don’t squander time. Be grateful for it and use it wisely.

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise. Redeeming the time, because the days are evil.”  Ephesians 5:15-16

Blessings,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

