Give Thanks

“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” I Thessalonians 5:18

African ladies carried wooden benches, wicker baskets filled with pots, plastic cups, red plates, and charcoal cookers on their heads. They set up the sidewalk café each morning to serve fried egg sandwiches, instant Nescafe coffee and Ovaltine.

A woman cracked the eggs in a bowl, whipped them with a fork and poured them in the beaten-up frying pan on top of a miniature stove. After the eggs were cooked, she sliced open a small loaf of salt bread and slid the omelet onto it.  She dipped a plastic goblet into a pot of boiling water, poured it over a spoon of instant coffe and stirred.

I had eaten that $1.30 breakfast every morning for a week as I traveled throughout the country. “Lord, I’m tired of fried egg sandwiches.”

“Don’t complain.  Look around. Be grateful for the food you have because there are millions of starving people in the world.”

If I hadn’t received an e-mail telling me “Happy Thanksgiving,” I would have forgotten our American holiday to give thanks.

I looked around at the unwashed people dressed in rags and was grateful in my heart that I’d grown up in a land of plenty with money, a good education and basic provisions  every day. 

Maybe we should be grateful all the time, not just one day of the year.

As  I sat on the uneven wooden bench I glanced at the local people. “Thank you Lord, I have a fried egg sandwich, instant coffee and hot, boiled water to drink. Thank you that I will have a roof over my head tonight when I reach the village. Thank you I’ve clean clothes to wear and will get to bathe at the end of the day. Thank you, Lord.”

“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

I Thessalonians 5:18

Be thankful. We may not have what we think is best or we may be tired of what we have or may not think it’s what we should have, but thank God anyway. Maybe He wants us to look out and beyond to those less fortunate for they can teach us how to be thankful.

Give thanks in all circumstances and for everything.

Blessings,

Celeste

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Give Thanks

  1. Renae says:

    Each time I think that I need more than I have, it seems like I hear about someone else that has lost their job, their house or everything. I praise God for what I have each and every day. I am so thankful. If God decides to give me more Praise God! If not Praise God! It all comes from our Father’s hand. Most of us are blessed much more than we can see.

  2. Tim Jones says:

    When I read your devotion I am reminded that God gives us all our needs and many of our wants! Thanks for the great reminder, Celeste

Leave a Reply

