LOVE is a big word

I love the Lord God

I love my mother.

I love my daughter.

I love my friend.

I love the sunset.

I love this book.

I love mangoes.

I love chocolate.

I love peace.

I love pie.

Love is a big word.

But there are many African languages in which our big, English word “love” cannot be translated or even used. You can’t say you love your father and you love steak. The word love isn’t acceptable and another verb is required for food.  Some languages are even more precise so words such as; like, prefer, enjoy, admire, and to be fond of are used.

I enjoy my friend.

I prefer steak.

The sunset is beautiful.

 I like this book.

I prefer pie.

I’m fond of mangoes.

In the States we can use the word love for almost everything.

I love my car.

I love ice cream.

I love the class.

I love to dance.

The Bible says, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. And love your neighbor as yourself. (Matthew 22:37-38)

“Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.”  (Matthew 5:44)

Love the name of the Lord. (Psalm5:7)

Love your salvation. (Psalm 40:16)

Love God’s law. (Psalm 119:97)

Love mercy. (Micah 6:8)

LOVE the Lord God and love others.  LOVE is big, powerful, strong, and great.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

