LOST

I hate being lost.

I hate not knowing where I am.

I hate not knowing how to get to where I’m going.

Being lost distresses me more than anything. It’s worse for me than being rejected, isolated, or punished.

My mother registered me for kindergarten. She then went on strike against the New York school system because they wanted me to take an hour-long bus ride across the city for the half-day of school. So Mom never send me to kindergarten.

When it was time to start first grade, I was still scheduled to ride across the city. Mom wanted to walk me across the street to school, but the dividing line was the road in front of our apartment building.

My mother lost the strike, and I was lost. That first day, all the teachers claimed their pupils. A teacher didn’t claim me for her classroom and I was left alone in the gymnasium. I cried and cried for how else does a six year-old deal with that awful, terrifying feeling of being alone, abandoned and lost. By the end of the day it was sorted out. My new teacher put me on the bus for home.

The bus driver dropped all the children at their homes and then parked the bus.  I was still in the vehicle, toward the back and all alone. I looked outside at the parking lot of yellow buses and will never forget that dreadful feeling. I was lost again. Thank God nothing really bad happened, but it was devastating enough being alone and lost downtown when I was only six.

Today whenever I’m lost, those same feelings of isolation and abandonment return, but I have Christ in my heart. After a good cry, I pray and ask Jesus, my Savior to help me get to my destination.

Being lost may not have that devastating effect on you as it does me. However, if you doubt you’re on the right road, aren’t certain of your final destination or how to get to an everlasting life in Heaven with the Lord, you can be saved today.

Are you lost? Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you shall be saved.

“I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father God except through me, Christ.” John 14:6

Trust in Jesus as your Savior and he will put you on the right road.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LOST

  1. Martin LaBar says:

    Dramatic and well written, and it makes the point.

Leave a Reply

