Where is God?

Sometimes in Africa I asked,  “Lord God, where are you, and do you understand what I’m going through now?”

How could God understand what it was like for me if he had never been a woman propositioned by male officers or even had a child? Jesus was never a white lady alone, living and working among black-skinned Africans who sometimes weren’t friendly.

Jesus was a Jewish man living in Israel and understood the culture and traditions. He knew what to do or not to do. If he broke a rule or tradition he had a good reason.

On the other hand, He was the Son of God and left His Father and home, the perfect place called Heaven, to come to the imperfect, sinful world. So maybe he was a stranger on this earth, like I was a foreigner in Africa? But could he understand my sicknesses, struggles and dangers if he never was a female?

For years I wrestled with this dilemma until one day God answered me and put my question to rest. “I, your Savior and Lord, am in you and going through this with you. I’m right here enduring the hardship and pain that you are suffering. I don’t need to be a woman, a foreigner or an old man to understand your struggles because I’m going through them with you.”

When we invite Him into our lives as Savior and Lord, He lives in us and takes us through our suffering.

“I will never leave you or forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5

“I am with you always.” Matthew 28:20

Be blessed knowing that the Son of God is with you in your suffering.

Celeste Charlene

PS   My novel, Shaken Blessings, will be published as an e-book under PRISM. I’ll keep you posted when it is released. Many incidents in the book were taken from my experiences in Africa.  I pray you will enjoy it and be encouraged.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where is God?

  1. Nita says:

    So often we forget that the Lord is always with us. Thanks for the reminder. I needed that today.

  2. mflabar says:

    That was quite an answer that God gave you.

Leave a Reply

