WHO DO YOU SAY I AM?

“But what about you?” he asked.  “Who do you say that I am?” Matthew 16:15

After I accepted a new position as health consultant for a national church, I took a survey to determine the spiritual beliefs of the local people.  I asked one hundred, random  adults, “Who is your God?” some folks didn’t quite understand the question so I added, “who do you worship?” and “who do you trust to save you?” and “who do you offer your sacrifices?” (since I’d seen folks slaughtering animals to gods.)

Fifty-six persons told me that they worshipped spirits in the trees, mountains, land and rocks.

Twenty-seven of the hundred pointed toward the established, Catholic church in the village. They said Jesus on the cross was their God.

The remaining folks shrugged and told me they didn’t know any God.

Over the years I spent with them, I noticed just a few demonstrated a relationship with the Lord Jesus, but the majority of them were deeply religious. One man sent his oldest son to the city to attend the Baptist church.  He sent his second oldest to the Catholic church. His third child went to the mountain to offer sacrifices and his youngest killed chickens to make his ancestors happy.

The father polished his idols, hung his hand-made gods from the rafters, and displayed the tokens of the local witch doctor. Just before he died he believed on Jesus, confessed his sins to the Catholic priest, killed goats for his ancestors, collected more paraphernalia from the witch doctor, and worshipped the mountain.

If Christ asked you,  “Who do you say I am?”

What would you say?

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHO DO YOU SAY I AM?

  1. Nicole Bailey Blythe says:

    I worship the one who died for my sins, the one who walked on water, the who healed the sick, the who gave the blind sight, the one that was promised to me by God, the one that raised the dead the one that arose from the dead, the one and only Son Of God, my Lord And Savior Jesus Christ!

  2. Martin LaBar says:

    Good question, and good answer.

Leave a Reply

