Seek first the Kingdom of God

“Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith. Therefore do not worry, saying, what shall we eat? Or what shall we drink?  Or what shall we wear?”

Or where shall we live?

“For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all of these things.” Matthew 6:30-34

The Lord will provide a place to live, but we must go out there and find it. In Africa when I was transferred to a new village to establish a primary health care program I had to first visit the village chief.  His permission was necessary before I could move to his town. After he endorsed my coming into his community he helped me find a place to live. He knew the available mud homes in the area and the men who owned them.

There were usually three to five places. We’d walk down the trail and look at each of the dwellings. After seeing them, he’d ask me which one I wanted.

How does a lady select a mud house?

The mud home that was farthest away from the populated area of the village was always better.  Usually that was the one located outside the community and next to the witchdoctor’s home. I thought one very wicked neighbor would be better than thirty pagan men nearby who often got drunk.  I also, had to remember that mice, snakes, scorpions and a variety of insects lived in thatched roofs, so I selected a house with a metal roof, even though a tin one was hotter. If the house had a door it was good. A pit latrine out back was another bonus.

That afternoon I moved into my new home in the village.

Here in the States I started looking at apartments three weeks ago. The first one I liked was the right price so I went home and called the landlady. The apartment was already taken. The second, third and fourth ones were rented before I could call the owner. I’ve driven to five surrounding towns, checked every local paper, newsletter, internet listings, and craigs list.  I’m not that particular since I’ve lived in mud houses in Africa.

The Lord will lead me to the right one in His time. My heavenly Father knows everything I need, including a home. There’s no reason to worry, but sometimes I do miss the simple way of finding a place to live in Africa.

 

 

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seek first the Kingdom of God

  1. mflabar says:

    We’re praying. You only need one place.

Leave a Reply

