The Guide

“For this God is our God forever and ever. He will be our guide even to the end.” Psalms 48:14

Have you ever tried to follow someone in your car? You had no idea of where you were going, so someone promised to lead you there.

Each time I need to do this, my heart pounds. Usually the traffic is heavy. I try to follow when she turns left. Cars pull out in front of me or the traffic light changes and then I lose her up ahead.  At last I see the car way down the road or the vehicle is pulled off the street. I follow her again as she turns right, but more cars pull in front of me getting between her vehicle and mine. By then, I’m a nervous wreck.

I have no idea where I’m going, so I worry about whether or not I will ever get there.  Will she turn again into more traffic so more cars get in front of me? Will a traffic light turn red and she’ll leave me behind? There are so many things to worry about when following someone to an unknown destination.

In Africa I’ve followed guides who took me to rural villages to treat their sick. Once I knew where the village was located, I could find my way. But if a bridge was broken down or a flood washed out a path, the chief sent someone to lead me on a detour to the community.  In those cases I knew where I was going but didn’t know the round-about way to get there. So I trusted my guide. After all, he lived in the village and knew his way home. So I never worried.  I was at peace and never fretted that I might not arrive.

Every time a chief sent a guide to lead me to a village I was always reminded of Jesus, our guide. He knows the way to Heaven and the best route to get there.

Do you know where you’re going?  Heaven or Hell?

Do you know the guide, the Lord Jesus?

If so, you can trust the guide to find the best path to take you there.

“For this God is our God forever and ever. He will be our guide even to the end.” Psalms 48:14

This is a comforting thought. Amen.

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Guide

  1. mflabar says:

    Yes, following another car in unknown territory is no fun.

Leave a Reply

