Red Velvet Cake

Red Velvet Cake

“Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things.” Philippians 4:8

For the last church pot luck someone made a delicious red velvet cake. I took a moment during that first bite to thank God for the love of believers for one another.

Whenever I’m served a homemade red velvet cake, I’m reminded to meditate.  That dessert always brings back memories of God’s love found in the thoughtful Christians around me. It’s symbolic of a sacrifice that others made for me.

When I went to Africa I was the youngest missionary in Senegal. It was my first term living in a foreign country for two and half years. One of the missionaries found out that that my favorite cake was red velvet.

At that time there was no red food coloring available in Africa. Missionaries brought bottles of it with them for decorating Christmas cookies and Valentines Cakes.

On my birthday they surprised me with a red velvet cake. It was the most delicious one I’d ever eaten. It was even more precious to me when I’d learned all the missionaries had sacrificed some of their food coloring to bake the homemade cake. For the recipe required at least two bottles of it.

So now a homemade red velvet cake always brings to mind sweet memories of God’s love.

What reminds you of God’s love?

As you go through your day, think of a special gift or sacrifice that someone gave you.

“Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy-meditate on these things.” Philippians 4:8

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Velvet Cake

  1. mflabar says:

    Great story. It’s good cake.

Leave a Reply

