BE GRATEFUL

What make us stop to give thanks for what we have?

Seeing a poor person, a suffering individual or one in dire circumstances should cause us to take a moment to be grateful for our blessings.

On Thanksgiving I watched a documentary on the 1.6 million orphans in Uganda. The civil war left many abandoned children. Then AIDS swept the country and wiped out more adults. I’ve prayed for orphans and helped when it was possible while I worked in Africa.

Watching them made me so much more grateful for my good life on earth. I praise and thank God for sending his Son Christ as a sacrifice to provide us with everlasting life in Heaven. I can’t think of anything worse than living in misery and pain your whole life on earth and then spending an eternity in Hell for more suffering.

I’m thankful for good health.

Family.

Friends.

Solid, long-lasting relationships and good times together.

A good church where I’m free to worship and serve.

Adequate shelter from cold, rain, dirt and wild animals.

Comfortable bed with covers. (I’m grateful  for this because I’ve slept in some  bad places over the years.)

Lots of food. A refrigerator to preserve it. Electricity to keep it running.

Lights all the time.  (No more candles or kerosene lanterns.)

Heat without having to chop firewood.

Money to pay for all these luxuries.

Clothes.

Running water.  (I thank God for this. Unless you’ve been without it, no one can know what it’s like not having it.)

Wash machine (I didn’t mind washing clothes by hand, but it takes time. Decent weather is needed to hang the clothes to dry.)

A comfortable chair. (There were times when all I had to sit on was a wooden bench. That’s no fun.)

A dependable car that’s good on gas. (Although riding bush taxis is an adventure and economical, they are unreliable and uncomfortable.)

Am I thankful to be in America with access to every possible amenity?

Sometimes.

Other times I miss Africa, the simple life styles, caring villagers, and emphasis on people and relationships.

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving. Let’s remember to be thankful every day, for everything, and in all circumstances.

I Thessalonians 5:18. In everything give thanks.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BE GRATEFUL

  1. Martin LaBar says:

    We can never thank God enough.

Leave a Reply

