SUBSTITUTIONS

SUBSTITUTIONS

John 14:1-7

“I am the way, the truth and the life: no man comes to the father but by me.” (John 14:6)

Has anyone tried to make do with a substitution, and if so, did it work?

If Africa I had to manage with lots of substitutions. I made homemade Greek yogurt every week to eat but also used it as a replacement for sour cream. For cheese cake I used yogurt because there wasn’t any cream cheese. It tasted pretty good until later when I came to the States and ate real cheesecake.

Without butter or lard, I had to use cooking oil.  Sometimes the only one available was peanut oil. The village women pressed oil out of peanuts which they had harvested locally on their farms. Of course everything from homemade mayonnaise to fried eggs tasted like peanuts. I had gotten accustomed to the flavor, until I came to the States and tasted real salad dressing.

After thirty years in Africa managing with substitutions, I don’t use them now.

I prefer the real thing.

So it is with God. We may think that substitutions like talking to the pastor, going to church, or singing in the choir will be as good as the real thing, which is having a personal relationship with Jesus.  But nothing in this world can take the place of knowing Jesus personally as Savior and Lord.

After you’ve had a relationship with Him, you’ll never settle for a substitute again.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

