WHAT IS SIN?

Revelations 21:1-8

“But the cowardly, unbelieving, abominable, murderers, sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars shall have their part in the lake which burns with fire and brimstone, which is the second death.” Revelations 21:8

What is sin?

-Breaking the commandments.

-Falling short of God’s grace.

-Rebellion

-Not achieving God’s standards.

-Disobedience

-Missing the mark.

-Anything that separates you from God.

If I’m on a high cliff and need to reach the opposite overhang, I can try to leap across the ravine. I think I’ll reach the other side because I’m a good jumper.

I missed the ledge by only a few inches and almost made it.  Ooops! It didn’t count because I plummeted to my death.

Humanly it’s impossible to reach the other side because the gap is too wide for any person to make it. No matter how great a jumper I am, I’ll never get to the other ledge on my own strength.

I could try to build a bridge, but then I’d need something or someone to help me join the two cliffs because the chasm is too wide and the ravine to deep.

Christ’s death became the bridge. He gave His life as a sacrifice. The cross became the one and only way to reach God.

A sin is that great gulf of unbelief, rebellion, disobedience, lies, excuses, immorality and anything impure that separates us from God.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WHAT IS SIN?

  1. mflabar says:

    Good illustration.

Leave a Reply

