I WAS A STRANGER

Matthew 25:35

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,” (Matthew 25:35)

Have you ever been a stranger in a foreign land?

My first night in Africa, no one met me at the international airport. The church officials received no news of my arrival. The post office was the only means of communication, but the government facilities had gone on strike the previous week.

Alone in the airport, I looked around for a friendly face to ask about lodging for the night.

An African lady approached me, and we started talking.

I told her my situation, and she said, “You can come and stay at my house.”

I had no idea where I was or what I should do. So I prayed, and God gave me peace.

She chartered a taxi. I cringed as we drove down dark streets. When we arrived, she used a kerosene lantern to lead the way inside her home. That was my first time sleeping on a cot without a mattress, taking a bucket bath, using a pit latrine, and sitting on a rock for a chair.

When the sun came up, I’d seen she had given me her best. Then she boiled water for tea, scrambled eggs, and sliced bread for breakfast.

I was a stranger. She took me in and welcomed me.

Look around for strangers. If Christ is in us, we too, should be hospitable.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I WAS A STRANGER

  1. Martin LaBar says:

    Good for that woman. We don’t always do our best for others, when we have so much more.

Leave a Reply

