The darkest hours

Exodus 13:14-18

“And it came to pass, when Pharaoh had let the people go, that God led them not through the way of the land of the Philistines, although that was shorter; for God said, if they see war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.” Exodus 13:17

God took them through the Red Sea, so they wouldn’t see war and be discouraged.

The first time I arrived in Africa it was pitch dark, and I couldn’t see the scenery, setting and buildings.

Looking back, I now see it was God’s plan. If I’d seen the broken-down buildings, fighting, and the garbage lined streets when I’d left the airport, I might have turned around and went back home. The Lord allowed me to see exactly what I could handle.

God sent a stranger to take me to her home for the night.

She was like Moses with the rod who led the way across the sea and through the wilderness. The Israelites had no idea where they were going, but they trusted their leader.

So I trusted that woman. Her care and hospitality planted a seed of love in my heart for the national people, that has remained since then.

God arranged for me to arrive at the darkest hour, so I wouldn’t see the horror and be discouraged.

If the way in front of you looks dark and dismal, don’t despair. There’s a reason for the darkness. Take heart, God doesn’t want you to see what’s there, so you won’t be discouraged.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The darkest hours

  1. mflabar says:

    Great story, and, as always, a great God.

Leave a Reply

