How mad can you get?

Ephesians 4:23-27

“Be ye angry and sin not.”  Ephesians 4:26

People can get so angry they’re tempted to kill, steal or destroy someone or something.

I’ll never forget the time I was the angriest I’d ever been. I was in Africa managing a large health program. I traveled to the city to purchase drugs for the patients.

Almost all the missionaries purchased medications from the national catholic pharmacy. I paid for fifty cans of intact, sealed medications, not due to expire for another year.

When I returned home, I carried the medications to my clinic and opened the first tin.  A foul odor came  out of it. All the pills were broken and in a powdery mess. I opened another container.  The smell was just as bad and the tablets were all crumbled. I rechecked the label, the seal, and expiration date. Everything was  correct.

I had just spent three hundred dollars on medicines I couldn’t give. I took another two days off to go to the city. I showed them to the sister in charge and asked for an exchange.

She yelled at me. “You spoiled your medicine and are trying to blame us.”

“I bought it this way.  I opened the container yesterday and found this. Why would I want to ruin medicine? I’ve been buying from you for five years.”

She pointed to the little sign on her desk. “All sales final.”

That was the angriest I’ve ever been. At the ex-patriot gathering I told about the spoiled medications so they would be aware.

I ended my story with, “I’m so MAD, so MAD, I could … could spit nails.”

Laughter filled the room.

Someone asked, “That’s all? Didn’t you want to strangle that sister or beat her over the head with a can of medicine?”

Someone please tell me what it means to be angry and sin not?

If your responses are helpful, I’d like to post them.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How mad can you get?

  1. The Hein Family says:

    Celeste, I think that it means thats its okay to get angry but you have to control the anger so that you do not commit a sin, like cursing, or unfair words, or even hitting or murder.  Everyone gets angry but you don’t have to sin in order to get rid of the emotion.  My sister’s husband had terminal cancer and it her counseling group they let their anger and frustration go by taking a small, fluffy pillow, grabbing it in a clutch with their fists and squeezing it a hard as they could to their chests.  I know its sound dumb but it worked and frequently, afterward, the little pillow was filled with tears of frustration that really eased their anger and pain. Hugs, Nita   When we give a child life, the gift

    we receive in return is simple joy.

    >________________________________ > From: celestecharlene >To: theniche@bellsouth.net >Sent: Tuesday, February 18, 2014 2:29 PM >Subject: [New post] How mad can you get? > > > > WordPress.com >celestecharlene posted: “Ephesians 4:23-27 “Be ye angry and sin not.”  Ephesians 4:26 People can get so angry they’re tempted to kill, steal or destroy someone or something. I’ll never forget the time I was the angriest I’d ever been. I was in Africa managing a large hea” >

  2. mflabar says:

    That verse may be a quotation from Psalm 4:4, according to a note in a Bible I use.
    It’s OK to be angry about injustice to others, or about attacks on God Himself.

Leave a Reply

