ALL IS WELL

II Kings 4:20-29

The prophet prayed for this woman to get a son. Later the promised little boy hurt his head and died.  The mother told everyone, “it is well,” on the way to get Elisha.

“Why are you going to him today? It is neither the New Moon or the Sabbath. And she said, “It is well.” II Kings 4:23

It’s an inspiring story. And so is the story that inspired the famous song, “It is well with my soul.”

I was going through a difficult time in Africa and complained bitterly about my inadequate living conditions, lack of supplies, food, and water. Certain people and circumstances had beaten me down. I grumbled and whined about everything.

As I hiked down the bush trail, a young boy came toward me. He wore nothing but a big grin.  His mother was probably at home washing his only set of clothes.

The boy stopped, smiled at me, and said, “All is well.”

My heart dropped.  How could this child, who had no toys or books or extra clothes, walk naked down the trail and tell me, “All is well.”

I asked forgiveness for my grumbling and complaining. God said, “If that little child could be happy with nothing, surely you can be happy with everything.”

With Jesus we have everything we need, “All is well.”

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ALL IS WELL

  1. mflabar says:

    We have so much! (Or at least I do.)

Leave a Reply

