FORGIVE

Jesus said, “Father, forgive them for they know not what they are doing.” Luke 23:34

Jesus was crucified. Early martyrs were burned at the stake or thrown to the lions, but they forgave their killers.

One of my African patients, dying of AIDS, told me this story.

“I was the third wife when I married my husband. No one in our home was a Christian. I couldn’t give my husband any children, so he threw me out. But he gave me lots of beatings and diseases including AIDS. After I became sick, I begged on the streets. Some Christians helped me, and I believed on Christ as my Savior. God filled me with his love so that I forgave my husband for his abuse and giving me AIDS. I decided to serve God with all my heart.”

If anyone deserved to be bitter and hateful, she did. She died in excruciating pain.

When I started treating her, I thought the glow from her face was from the raging  fever.  But the radiance was still there even after the fever left. Her forgiveness during her last months on earth was a testimony to everyone.

If Christ has forgiven us and His love fills us, shouldn’t we be able to forgive those who have wronged us?

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FORGIVE

  1. mflabar says:

    Wow!

Leave a Reply

