REPENT

REPENT

Luke 13:1-5

“I tell you no. But except you repent you shall all likewise perish.” (Luke 13:5)

Repent means to be sorry or apologize for your thoughts and actions.

Some African men in our village complained that they could never give up all the pleasures in the world that the Christians in the local church had surrendered.  They said it wasn’t easy for any man to stop drinking local millet beer, going to pagan parties and sleeping with women.

I explained that if a man recognizes the evil in his life and repents from it, God gives him power to follow Him. Turning to Christ gives you the strength to live for Him.

Pretend I am an unbeliever. I set a filled calabash across the room and walk to it. Seeing it reminds me to get drunk and commit adultery.  I am following the devil, Satan.

Repenting means I turn all the way around, a hundred and eighty degrees, so I am no longer seeing what you call pleasures. They are now behind me, at my back, so I’m walking in the opposite direction to follow my Savior and Lord.

When you repent, turn your back on your sins so you can’t see them. Then you’re not as likely to get tempted to do them. Repenting of your old life and evil ways is the first step to serve God. After turning your backs on your sins, turn to Christ, He gives you power to keep following Him.

REPENT.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REPENT

  1. mflabar says:

    Good advice.

Leave a Reply

