DISAPPOINTED?

Proverbs 16:3

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.”

Have you ever been discouraged wondering if you’re wasting time on a job that doesn’t seem to matter?

I’ve been writing since I was in the fifth grade. After I became a Christian I committed my writing to the Lord. Later as a foreign missionary I had to write newsletters to financial supporters but always prayed over them that God would take my words and use them for His glory. In Africa I had lots of time to write while waiting for bush taxis, the market to open or my patients to arrive each day. God kept telling me to write and so I did.

Sometimes I feel disheartened. Is writing a waste of time when it seems that no one is reading anything anymore?

But God has called me to write, so I keep on writing. If no one reads anything today, tomorrow or for thirty years, after I die someone will find five million unpublished words in my computer.  Since I’ve committed these words to the Lord for His glory maybe that will be the time for God’s plan to succeed.

Do what God has called you to do. Then commit it to the Lord for His glory. Your plans will succeed.  If he has called you to raise children, mow lawns or teach Sunday school, then do it and commit it to God

Commit your life, family, job, hobby and activities to Him. He will take them and use them.  If you think what you’re doing could be a waste of time, don’t stay discouraged.

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.” (Proverbs 16:3)

 

 

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DISAPPOINTED?

  1. mflabar says:

    Keep writing . . .

Leave a Reply

