Who Wrote the Bible?

“For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword.” Hebrews 4:12

“Who wrote it?”  Someone asked at our Bible study.

What could I remember from Bible college forty years ago?

I answered. “There were about 40 men involved. Moses wrote Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Number, Deuteronomy, and probably Job.

Most of the prophets wrote their books. Jonah wrote Jonah, Joel wrote Joel and so on with the rest.

David wrote many of the Psalms.

But I forgot who wrote, Esther, Ruth, Judges,  I and II Chronicles and I and II Kings.

The Apostle Paul wrote thirteen epistles; Romans, I and II Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, I and II Thessalonians, I and II Timothy, Titus, Philemon and probably Hebrews.

Matthew wrote Matthew. Mark wrote Mark. Luke wrote Luke and Acts. John wrote John plus, I, II and III John and Revelations.

But silly me couldn’t remember who wrote I and II Peter. And that’s funny.

My guests asked me to write the authors out for them which I did.

The next day other people came and asked for a sheet of the authors for a friend.

 

There was an old woman in our village church in Africa.

She testified, “God’s book is powerful and stronger than the evil spirits.  I can’t read, but I keep it under my pillow each night and sleep well. It protects me from Satan and his demons.”

She respected and referenced the Bible.

So should we.

And if we keep his Word hidden in our hearts, we wouldn’t be so quick to sin against Him.

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Wrote the Bible?

  1. mflabar says:

    God used all these people, writing in their own cultures.

Leave a Reply

