Could all the choices today be one of the reasons for our discontentment?

Philippians 4:11-13

“Now I have learned in whatever state I am to be content. (4:11)

When the Apostle Paul was thrown into prison, I don’t think he wanted to be there. He couldn’t have been happy beaten, in pain, or confined in jail. But over the span of his ministry he had learned to be content in all situations.

How did he learn contentment in all circumstances?

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” (4:13)

The Lord was with Paul. God comforted him and gave him inner contentment in each difficulty.

My every-day choices in Africa were limited. If there was one tuna fish can for sale, I bought it whether it was packed in oil, or water, or a brand I would have never eaten in the U.S. Either I learned to like it or stop eating tuna.

When a missionary was selling her old laptop for a $100, I bought it because it was the only one available.  I was grateful to have one.

Adjusting to life in the States, I’ve had to face many choices. Walking down a computer aisle overwhelms me. I leave the store asking myself, “Which one?”

But shame on me. I now get disgruntled if the store is out of my favorite brand of bread. In the African village there was only one kind, a white loaf, and I was grateful for it.

So take a look around you. Are all the choices causing discontentment if you can’t have the one you want?

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Could all the choices today be one of the reasons for our discontentment?

  1. mflabar says:

    Yes, we have more options than most of the people in the world, and we aren’t grateful enough, by a lot.

  2. Nita says:

    This is so very true, Celeste. Way to many choices, then you make one and have buyer’s regret that you chose that one instead of another. Life used to be so easy when I was younger! No computers.

Leave a Reply

