Who was the greatest inspiration to you in your Christian life?

God called me to be a missionary, but it was Gladys Alyward, The Little Woman to China, and Mary Slessor, The White Queen of the Cannibals who inspired me to be the kind of missionary I became over the years.

Yesterday I watched the old movie, The Inn of Sixth Happiness. (If you can ignore the liberties Hollywood took in it, it may inspire you, too.  For me there are so many similarities between Gladys and myself I cry.) Like Gladys, at one time, I, too, wasn’t qualified to be a missionary.

The film shows the difficulties Gladys Alyward faced when she set out to be a missionary and the challenges she overcame to share the Gospel and rescue abandoned babies. She marched a hundred orphans across the mountains away from the war and to safety.

Mary Slessor, my other inspiration, became the only white lady in a southeastern state in Nigeria where local people killed twins because one was of the devil, but which one? Both were slaughtered. So Mary saved these babies and also evangelized the cannibals. The monument of her holding two infants is located in Cross River State. (I’m still searching for the picture to show you.)

God will help us as we go through life and deal with harsh problems, but sometimes reading about others overcoming these same difficulties can inspire us.

Joshua 1:9 “Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who was the greatest inspiration to you in your Christian life?

  1. Kathryn Page Camp says:

    My father was my greatest inspiration. He was a very intelligent man who believed in a God who sounds like a fairy tale. After all, have you ever seen anyone rise from the dead? But if my father could believe it without risking his intellectual integrity, so can I. (Of course, the Holy Spirit has something to do with my believing it, too.)

  2. mflabar says:

    I remember reading about these giants of the faith, long ago.

Leave a Reply

