ARE YOU PLUGGED IN?

“You lust and have not. You kill and desire to have and cannot obtain. You fight and war. You have not because you ask not. You ask and receive not because you ask amiss that you may consume it upon your lusts.” James 4:2-3

My prayers to understand modern technology were not being answered. So I went back to the printer thinking that it may have been responsible for all the other problems and it was. I had moved the printer from one computer to the other and from one outlet to the other, but still there were no lights. I plugged it in one last time before taking it to the trash. And then I saw why it didn’t work. The cord had come loose from the back of the printer. It was in the outlet but not to the machine.

And that was just like me, plugged into God, but with something so wrong that I wasn’t connected to the power cord. I had become frustrated, annoyed, ungrateful, and was complaining.

My prayers had turned into grumbling and criticisms, instead of worship and thanksgiving. I was like that technical device. For it to work perfectly, everything had to be connected and lined up, the curser, the highlight, the menu, the toolbar and so on.

I had to get my heart in line to hear from God. So I repented of my complaints and ingratitude. I’m not just saying this, but I’m truly sorry.

Please forgive me, if you’re one who has had to listen to all these complaints.

Thank you Lord for the new computer. Thank you Lord the old one is limping along to encourage me when the frustrations on the new one are overwhelming. Thank you Lord, I still have all the documents and the ten completed books I’ve written. They could have been lost forever when my computer died. Thank you Lord, things aren’t worse. Thank you Lord, I’m winning my battle with technology. Thank you for all my family and friends who are so patient and helpful.

Praise God!

You may be connected to the power source, but you’ve got to be plugged in to the power line. Check your heart, attitude, and behavior. If you’re out of alignment, you might not be receiving the answers you need.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ARE YOU PLUGGED IN?

  1. mflabar says:

    Good point.

Leave a Reply

