I’m going to die.

I plan to die one day.

It happens to everyone, and it’s in the Bible. “As it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment.” Hebrews 9:27

In places in Africa it’s forbidden to mention death in the same sentence with a person.

I was nearly stoned one day when I said,  “If you don’t take this baby to the hospital, he will die.”

The people shouted. “Stop cursing the baby. Now he may never get well because you spoke a curse of death on him.”

“I didn’t speak a curse of death, I wanted to warn them to get help for the child.”

“You spoke death on the boy. When it came out of your mouth, you spoke it into existence.”

I shook my head, “Only God can speak something into existence.”

Over the years I learned to say, “Your child needs more help than I can give him. Take him to the hospital.”

If they didn’t take the child, was it because I didn’t give a stronger warning?

Even in the States it’s hard for some people to talk about death, but not for me.

I know where I’m going.  I’ve believed on Jesus and trust Him.  The Lord has promised me everlasting life in Heaven.

I’m going to die, one day and I’m ready.  How about you?

Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m going to die.

  1. mflabar says:

    I believe the rooms at the mortuary where a body is in a casket/coffin, waiting to be viewed, are called “slumber rooms.” Right. We don’t like to think about death.

Leave a Reply

