WHY ARE YOU HERE?

“And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:30-31

I’ve taken my neighbors regularly to run errands, to doctors and the store. But we arrange the time and day in advance, so I can work around it.

A few weeks ago one of my neighbors knocked on my door and asked if I could take her to the doctor.

“When?”

“In fifteen minutes.”

I glanced at my unbaked cookie dough, unfinished Bible study, library books due, and several chapters to be critiqued. I didn’t have time.

SHAME ON ME for thinking that. Lord, forgive me.

Sometimes I need a sharp reminder as to WHY I was put on the earth.

To love God and love my neighbors. I jumped in the car and drove her to the doctor’s. Two hours later I got home and finished everything I thought I needed to do that day.

“And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:30-31

Why do you think you were put on the earth?

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHY ARE YOU HERE?

  1. mflabar says:

    Good question.

  2. Tim Jones says:

    Thanks for the reminder Celeste!

Leave a Reply

