The Voice

“And how shall they preach, except they be sent? As it is written. How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!” Romans 10:15

A few days after I arrived, I was walking to my temporary quarters in the African bush when I saw a small boy standing by the trash. Blood flowed out of his slit wrist.

I ran to him and pressed my hand over the gash to stop the bleeding. Hoping  to calm him, I spoke softly. As I looked at him again, he chattered in his native language, and I realized he was mentally handicapped.

I couldn’t get the child to apply pressure so I could release him and collect bandages. Neither could I drag him to my home where I had first aid supplies. Someone might think I’d kidnapped him.

An older boy came our way so I yelled the only word I knew in the local language, “white man.”

Fortunately he took off in the direction of where my supervisor lived.

As I stood there with my hand pressed on the wound, I heard a small voice inside of me, “This is where I want you.”

A divine peace, one that passes all understanding, washed over me. I knew that’s where I was supposed to be.

If we ask forgiveness, repent, and surrender all to the Lordship of Christ, His Spirit lives in us. The Holy Spirit speaks to us, guiding us in a still small voice, so we know what we are to do and where we are to go.

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Voice

  1. mflabar says:

    That voice is important!

Leave a Reply

