My star wouldn’t light.

The star on top of my Christmas tree is old. After struggling to get it attached, I finally wired it to the tree because the stem is broken.

When the decorations were in place I plugged the lights in. The star didn’t light. Surely with all the other lights on the tree, no one will notice that the star didn’t work.

The first person who came to my house said, “Your star doesn’t light.  Take it down and I will fix it for you.”

“Thank you but it’s too much trouble.  I’ll have to move the chair, end table, and manger scene. Then I’ll need the step-ladder and probably the wire cutters.” I sighed. “Maybe I’ll pretend I’m in Africa where there’s no electricity.”

After looking at the unlit star for a week I abandoned my excuses for not fixing it and took the time and trouble to take it down.

It’s kind of silly to go through Christmas with an unlit star. But it’s even more foolish to go through life without the Light of Christ.

It’s not too much trouble to let Christ in. And you are not too broken for Him to fix you. And some people do notice. And you can’t pretend that there is no light.

Christ came to earth to save us and light us up, like a star.

“I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.”  John 12:46

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My star wouldn’t light.

  1. Nita says:

    Love this!

  2. mflabar says:

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

