Why is it hard to confess when we’ve done wrong?

After Adam and Eve sinned, they knew they were naked. They sewed fig leaves to cover themselves and then heard the voice of God in the garden and hid. (Genesis 3:7-13)

First they tried to cover their sin by sewing fig leaves together. Then they hid, and finally they blamed everyone else.

When God confronted them. “Who told thee that thou wast naked? Hast thou eaten of the tree that I commanded thee not to eat?”

The man pointed at Eve. “That woman you gave me, she handed me the fruit and I ate.”

It almost sounds like Adam is blaming God for giving him the woman.

Eve pointed at the snake. “That serpent tricked me and I ate.”

They couldn’t cover their sin. So they tried hiding and pointing their fingers at others.

Why is it so hard for us to confess our sins and seek forgiveness when Christ is eager to forgive? “For he is faithful and just to forgive us of all our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (I John 1:9)

If you’ve asked forgiveness for your sins and for Christ to save you, then you are a new creation. (II Corinthians 5:17)

You are no longer on the path to destruction and Hell. You have a fresh start to begin a life of peace, security and joy.

I like that, how about you?

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why is it hard to confess when we’ve done wrong?

  1. Nita says:

    Forgiveness is wonderful. Wouldn’t it be great if people could forgive each other as easily as God forgives us. I told someone last week that I had confessed my sins to the Lord and therefore did not have to be concerned about passing. She said but we all must be judged on the final day. I thought that if we were truly repentance of our sins and claimed Jesus as our Savior that we could be saved, even on our death be. Which is correct, Celeste? Will God judge us for past sins that are repented and must we still fear the fires of hell?

Leave a Reply

