Am I my brother’s keeper?

Surely no one is the absolute keeper of anyone else. No one can be responsible for another person’s safety especially if he is not present or physically unable to help. But Cain’s response showed a complete lack of feeling and compassion for his brother. Selfishness, hatred and jealousy controlled his action of killing Abel.

Anything that brings harm to others is wrong. No one should commit acts of physical violence against anyone else. What about the intensity of tongue? It seems to me that gossiping, quarreling, jealousy, slander, and outbursts of anger are acts of violence against others? These, too, should not be done.

Christ gave us two commands. Love God and love one another. If we keep these two commands, we will end up becoming our brother’s keeper. The Bible gives specific examples of how to be our brother’s keeper.

Accept one another, just as Christ accepted you. (Romans 15:7)

Bear one another’s burdens. (Galatians 6:1-2)

Consider others above yourself. (Hebrews:24-25)

Do good to one another (I Thessalonians 5:15)

Edify others. (Romans 14:19)

Forgive one another (Ephesians 4:32)

Give to others generously, not grudgingly (Romans 9:7)

Help one another (Galatians 5:13)

We are our brother’s keeper, so let’s be the best one we can be.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I my brother’s keeper?

  1. Donna Kincade says:

    Hi Celeste, It was a pleasure having lunch with you, Margaret and Theresa. Thank you again for your book “Shaken Blessings”. I have read it, cover to cover, over the last few days and I have to tell you that I truly enjoy it. The first chapter didn’t grab me but by the end of the second chapter I was hooked. What an amazing life you have lived. Theresa would like to get together again one of these days and I hope that we can.

Leave a Reply

