You can do whatever you want to do.

There was a time I was so discouraged I about gave up (there was actually more than one time of discouragement in my life.)

“Lord, I don’t want to be here in Africa. I want to go back to the States and do what I want to do.”

Then I heard the Lord’s quiet voice. “Do whatever you want to do.”

What did you say Lord?

Did Almighty God tell me I could do whatever I wanted to do? That didn’t sound like God.

Then I laughed and laughed.

God asked me, “What would you like to do?”

“Lord, I want to love and serve you without having any problems.”

Then I laughed harder. Who on earth doesn’t have hard times with or without God? Is there any place on earth and in life that is free of problems? Is there any job without challenges?

Without the Lord, I couldn’t have survived some days.

How does anyone get through each day without God? I wouldn’t want to go through life without the help of the Lord. Would you? If the Lord lives in us, He will helps us in our difficulties.

God has given us a free will. We can decide to go through life without Him. So in a bizarre way we can do whatever we want.

We are not robots who are programmed to serve God. We are human beings and the Lord gave us a free will to choose.

“Choose you this day whom you will serve.” Joshua 24:15

 

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

