Jesus will keep you safe.

“Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.” (1 John 4:4)

I was frequently given accommodations close to the village “medicine man” because local people didn’t build their homes near them. I never figured out the differences among sorcerers, witch doctors, warlords, shamans, witches and wizards, so I often referred to each one by the wrong name.

A deacon said the hierarchy of “evildoers” wasn’t known to anyone outside their secret societies. Their common trait was evil. No one in their secret society ever went about doing good, helping people in need, and healing the sick.

One of these fellows came to my house, stamped his foot in the ground, shook his cutlass, and screamed at me. And I laughed. Seeing the terrified expression on my assistant’s face, I clamped my mouth shut and swallowed my giggles, but it was too late.

The next day when I came home from work I found the screens slashed. I learned my lesson, “Never laugh at a sorcerer when he’s cursing you.”

If you meet one of these “evildoers” in the daytime, don’t go out of your way to antagonize him, because he could send more “evildoers” to steal, destroy your property, and kill your chickens.

Face him, know that God in you is greater than he and his evil.

Let the Lord God take care of him. “Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.”  (I John 4:4)

Jesus, living in you, will keep you safe.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

