Write. Save. File.

Last week we talked about writing your brilliant ideas and inspirational thoughts down throughout the day. Later when you have a few minutes,  type them into your computer or write them in a notebook.

Put each written piece in a file. I label mine ‘ideas for a novel’, ‘thoughts for a devotion’, or ‘suggestions for my blog.’

If one of my writing colleagues says, this next paragraph, scene, or chapter doesn’t belong in this book, I save it and move it to a file called ‘discarded scenes.’  I’ve gone back and used them in later projects. I never delete any valuable thoughts or words.

I tried writing  romance, and it wasn’t for me, but I managed to write several good scenes. Instead of deleting those lovely words. I put them in a file called ‘discarded romance.’

I also have files called ‘rejected scenes,’ and ‘rejected characters.’  A rejected piece is something no one liked, but if it was worked on it, changed a bit, and rewritten, it would no longer be rejected.

Write, save, and file.

After you have categorized those little ideas from the day, go back and look through what you have written. As you read you will be inspired to change what you have or add more.

If you don’t feel those written thoughts you’ve collected throughout the day should be saved or you simply don’t have time for it, shove them in a box or bag. Keep them together in one place. Later we’ll go back there.

Remember, everyone has something worthwhile to say or contribute, even a pre-illiterate man in the jungle could teach you a hundred uses for a papaya leaf and boil a medicine with it that might save your life.

We all need to start someplace, so write, save, and file.

Happy writing,

Celeste

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Write. Save. File.

  1. Kathryn Camp says:

    I put my discarded scenes for each book in a file I call “holding bin” for that book. If I change my mind later or decide it fits somewhere else, I still have it. And my file for ideas for new novels is called “Novel Ideas.”

Leave a Reply

