ENCOURAGE

“Let him encourage.” Romans 12:8

A word of encouragement, a smile, pat on the back, hug, compliment, or any other form of reassurance goes a long way.

When I received my first critique with more red words than my own in black, for a short time, I wondered if I should give up writing for the public. I couldn’t stop writing altogether and decided to keep writing in my journal, my thoughts on scripture, and my African stories for a few friends.

Then someone sent a supportive e-mail inviting me to a small group to help develop my work. Over time, through their critiques and suggestions, my writing has improved. Along the way it also took a few words of encouragement every so often.

Now as I critique others, I try to encourage. “Your content is good. I can see you’ve spent lots of time writing this. You’ve worked hard on this chapter and use interesting words. Your grammar and spelling are excellent.”

Let me encourage you to encourage others in their efforts. If someone bakes cakes, babysits, or mows your lawn, take a few minutes to encourage. It costs nothing and might save a job, a family, a marriage or even someone’s life or soul.

Encourage one another.

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ENCOURAGE

  1. mflabar says:

    Keep writing.

Leave a Reply

