THE WAY HOME

You can get lost twenty minutes from your home with an engineer in the car, two GPS devices, one smart phone, and three road maps.

My brother didn’t have any faith in my GPS because it took us a different route to reach New York (even though we arrived an hour earlier than planned.)

On the return trip when it was my turn to drive, I followed my GPS.

Three times my brother asked, “Are you sure this is the way home? I’ve never gone this way. We always drive 81 and 77.”

“I trust the GPS and am positive this is the way.”

Are you sure? Yes. Yes. Yes.

At eight it had become hard to see in the dark with the heavy rain, curvy mountainous route, and fog, so my brother took over driving. The GPS said the road to his home was two miles ahead. We were fifteen minutes away from his house.

After he slid behind the wheel, he turned off my GPS. “I don’t need this. I know my way home from here.”

Ten miles later he asked. “Did you see the road to 11?”

“Yes, we passed it.”

“Why didn’t you say anything?”

“You turned off my GPS, and I thought you knew a better route.”

We were lost in the storm. He consulted his smart phone. After turning around three times, we arrived at his house an hour later.

In his driveway, he asked me, “Can you get home?”

“Yes. I’ll follow the GPS. I trust it.”

We need to trust the Lord as the only way to Heaven. Jesus may take us on a road under construction or through a fog. But if we believe in Him, He will get us home.

Let’s keep our eyes on Him. If we don’t recognize the path the Lord has chosen for us, it doesn’t matter because He knows the way.

Jesus is the only way. John 14:6 Jesus said, “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one can come to the Father except through me.”

 

 

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

