Islands of Faith

“The LORD reigns, let the earth rejoice; let the many islands be glad.” Psalm 97:1

Ever feel as if your life didn’t matter? The world seems to focus on the seemingly great people.

When my Bible reading plan takes me to Kings, there’s a part of me that sighs. Bad kings follow good kings. The LORD chastises them, and then there’s a good king, but not for long. The bad kings follow again and again. You would think that those kings would finally learn their lesson from history, but the story ends with a bad king, a lost war, the country destroyed, and the people sent into captivity.

It seemed hopeless! However, my reading took me to Psalm 97:1, and I saw the story in a different way. What about the ordinary people like you and me? It seems at first that they blindly followed their bad king, but when we read about the 70 years of captivity, we find that there were some that did not worship the false gods their king worshipped, and that they were perhaps islands of faith.

Sometimes it seems as if our own world is heading in a bad direction on a spiritual level. Yet we know there is faith, for we have it; some of us aren’t pursuing the gods of this age. We are the ones I think God is addressing in Psalm 97:1. He’s telling us He’s still in control and we can still rejoice, even if everyone else seems to be ignoring Him. We are this generation’s islands of faith.

What a motivation for me to keep my own island of faith (my home) strong! Keep yours strong as well and rejoice! God’s got us covered. He’s really the only one in control.

by Reenie Rickard

 

About celestecharlene

I served as a medical missionary in West Africa for thirty years treating the sick and establishing health clinics in rural neglected areas.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

